Tuesday, July 29, 2008


Folie A' Deux - The Elements & The Madness
Artoffact Records

Prospero's latest release could be described as a jack of all trades musical grab bag. It's rare to see so many types of electronic styles spread across one album, but Wade Anderson, the mastermind behind all this sonic diversity is a man of many talents. The album is divided into two parts. The first being "The Elements" which consists of four tracks (representing each of the four elements) of experimental noises, tribal rhythms, dark synth's and a plethora of zombie movie samples (all from Night Of The Living Dead from what I can gather).

The second half, "The Madness" moves into ebm/industrial territory blending more minimal electronic styles (some sans vocals) with harder edged tracks all tailor made for maximum dance-floor efficiency. Three guest artist's (Ayria, Battery Cage and Terrorfakt) also lend their considerable skills to Mr. Anderson's brilliance. I thought I recognized Tyler Newman's (Battery Cage) distinct vocals on "Let The Planet Burn" but Terrorfakt's noise grinding beats just put this track through the roof. One my favorite songs on the second half.

While the entire cd is extremely well done, I have to say that I favor the first half the most. Mainly because it just had so much going on musically and reminded me of some of my favorite experimental acts, especially "This Morn' Omina". Regardless, this is a superb release, one that has just about everything but the kitchen sink. Who know's; after a few listen's, that to may be in there lurking in the mix as well.

- Craig Harvey

No comments: